Midnight Thoughts: Jane Eyre

“I am no bird and no net ensnares me.” 

It is midnight and I had the sudden urge to write something. I just finished, for the billionth time, watching Jane Eyre with my mom. She loved it. I am so glad that someone was able to sit through a movie that is set in the 1800s and endure the fancy English.

I love this movie and the book so much, it is one of my favorite stories. I read this book my senior year of high school, and while everyone dreaded the summer reading, I enjoyed every moment of this story. Even though many people think negatively of Mr. Rochester, I found his character to be fascinating. I think Michael Fassbender’s portrayal of him was great. Also I find it amazing how a book like this was written in a time where women couldn’t speak their minds or even write a book.

Watching the movie made me think back on how much I miss reading. Yeah I read a lot throughout the school year, but now I have the time and attention to read. But now I feel lazy and unmotivated to do so. I have Jane Eyre laying on my desk, waiting for me to pick it up and continue reading. I think I will in the morning.

(Btw: I am in love with Michael Fassbender <33)

Leave a Reply

